Top Universities for MBBS in UK for Indian Students


The United Kingdom is home to some of the world’s oldest medical universities, some of which date back to the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Six UK medical universities/colleges are listed among the top twenty-five top medical schools for MBBS in UK with QS world ranking.

Universities for MBBS in UK

  1. University of Oxford – 2nd
  2. University of Cambridge – 3rd
  3. University College London (UCL) – 9th
  4. Imperial College – 12th
  5. King’s College – 20th
  6. University of Edinburgh – 22nd

But wait, there’s more. The QS world ranking list for medical schools includes thirty-nine UK-based schools. Let us explain why these institutions are ranked among the best in the world.

MBBS in UK Universities

University of Oxford

The University of Oxford is the world’s oldest university in the English-speaking world. Oxford University offers two graduate MBBS programmes.

  • Four years, MBBS (Fast-track, Graduate Entry only) BMBCh
  • Six years MBBS BMBCh

Only a few students are accepted into medical school here. As a result, the atmosphere is relaxed, with everyone knowing everyone else. The six-year MBBS course at Oxford provides comprehensive training with a focus on basic research that supports MBBS. The course is split into two sections.

The first three years are dedicated to pre-clinical learning, which leads to an undergraduate honours degree in Medical Science.

The following years are devoted to clinical training, which includes hands-on sessions with real patients.

All medical students at Oxford are required to participate in experimental research projects in a field of their choice as part of their BA in Medical Sciences. Students can participate in research projects at any laboratory, department of medical sciences, or university.

University of Cambridge

Cambridge, the second oldest university in the English-speaking world after the University of Oxford, offers two MBBS courses.

  • Four years, MBBS (Cambridge Graduate Course) MB
  • Six years of MBBS MB

The MBBS MB course is divided into six modules, one for each year of the six-year programme. Each module is made up of several comprehensive segments that are designed to impart the skills and knowledge required in the medical profession. At Cambridge, the emphasis is on understanding knowledge before applying it.

University College London (UCL)

UCL provides eight courses ranging from BSc. Honours in Sports and Exercise Medical Science leading to a BSc Honours in Nutrition and Medical Sciences leading to BSc Honors degrees in infection and immunity, among other things.

The MBBS programme is a six-year integrated BSc programme that leads to undergraduate degrees in Bachelor of Science (BSc), Bachelor of MBBS, and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS). The course is designed to give students clinical experience with doctors and patients.

Imperial College London

The MBBS degree offered by Imperial is accredited by the General Medical Council. Among European universities, Imperial has one of the largest MBBS faculties. It works closely with clinics, hospitals, and NHS Trusts to provide medical students with hands-on clinical experience.

University of Edinburgh

The University of Edinburgh offers four MBBS courses in various specialisations. The University offers a six-year MBBS MB ChB (Bachelor of MBBS and Surgery) programme that is accredited by the General Medical Council in the United Kingdom and recognised by accrediting bodies in a number of countries, including Australia, the United States, and Canada. It is Scotland’s only institute that offers the MBChB programme.

King’s College London

King’s College London provides ten medical courses. The MBBS MBBS programme is a six-year integrated course that focuses on medical practitioner training and development. King’s collaborates with three major London hospitals: King’s College, Guy’s Hospital, and St. Thomas’ Hospital.

The collaboration ensures that students receive hands-on training throughout their studies. The MBBS programme at King’s is accredited by the General Medical Council, which allows students to register with the GMC to practice MBBS in UK.

University of Dundee

The university provides three full-time undergraduate MBBS programmes, namely-

  • Gateway to Medicine MB ChB
  • Medicine BMB Ch
  • Oral Health Sciences BSc

Admission to the course requires passing the A-levels (or equivalent) on the first attempt, in one sitting. Students must have chosen one science subject other than chemistry.

MBBS in UK Course Duration

University of St Andrews

St Andrews University offers two six-year programmes and one four-year course. All three courses are full-time.

  • Medicine (Graduate Entry) 4-years MBChB
  • Medicine (Canadian Programme) 6-years MBChB
  • Medicine 6-years MB ChB

University of Bristol

The university currently offers four undergraduate MBBS programmes. The Gateway to MBBS programme is a 6-year programme that leads to Bachelor of MBBS and Bachelor of Surgery (MB ChB) degrees.

Keele University

Keele University offers thirteen undergraduate MBBS programmes, including midwifery, nursing, pharmacy, physiotherapy, paramedics, and others. The MBChB programme at the university is a six-year programme.

Wrapping Up!

The universities discussed in this article have the best faculty and world-class facilities, ensuring that aspiring medical professionals have the best learning opportunities to help them advance in their careers. We hope you now have a clear understanding of the best medical universities in the UK. Visit Meridean Overseas Education Consultants, one of the most reputable UK education consultants in India, for more information and assistance.

Also read: Guide to Study MBBS in China at Shihezi University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *